Beard Lab Beard oil and Moustache Wax

lab black

I recently received some beard oil and moustache wax from Beard Lab to try out, I’ve not used many waxes so was looking forward to trying a new one.  I have yet to find a wax that I’m totally happy with, the ones I’ve tried so far either have little to no hold or I struggled to get the solid mess out of the tin.  Beard Lab is a company born from someone tired of having to ship quality products from the states. As well as great quality products they also have a good tip on their site for people new to growing a beard on how much oil to use.

The oil that I am trying out is a Cedarwood scent and it smells as you would expect it to, woody, a bit spicy and subtle but not so subtle that you can’t smell it. The oil left my beard feeling well conditioned and a friend commented saying how shiny my beard was looking.  It has a good consistency which covers the beard well meaning that a little should go a long way. The price of the oil is £6.99 for 30ml; a really good price for a great oil.  Beard Lab produce other fragrances too such as vanilla, spearmint, and spiced apple as well as some quite unusual ones, they even have a jelly bean blend!  I’ve not seen many other UK companies offering blends like this so you can save a few pounds on shipping from the states and their products are competitively priced anyway. Maybe they should be called bargain Beard Lab, I might have to reserve rights on that name just in case.

lab

I don’t always style my moustache but when I do, I want a good hold without the product pulling out any of the hairs in my face while applying it , some have the consistency of a thick tar.  The Beard Lab wax was the complete opposite of that, in fact it reminded me of a good grease based pomade but stiffer.  It’s quiet hard in the pot but melts easy enough in the fingers and is easily applied, another good thing was it didn’t clump and leave little bits of wax in my moustache. Some of the waxes I’ve tried before have required me scraping a bit out with a small comb and melting it with a hair dryer, not with this one though. I’ve not had the chance to try it in wet or hot weather yet but on a dry normal day it held fine and kept my stache styled all day after only using a small amount. This has definitely been the best wax I have tried so far and at only £6.99 for 30ml it is a really good price.The wax is now on my list of preferred products and thankfully I won’t be tearing hair out when I use it.  Here’s a pic of me after using this wax.

IMG_20150329_212953

To see Beard Labs full range of products you can visit their web site here they also have a kickstarter page here if you want to help them grow as a company.

Leave a Reply

